Week 20 – (August 28) – Brilliant Chu leads Halstead to T20 success

Published by: North Essex Cricket League
Published on 31 August 2022
Last Updated: 26 September 2022

Halstead’s Max Chu dominated T20 Finals Day with two centuries to see his side claim the T20 title for the second time.


Halstead met Mistley in the semi final and were soon into their stride after being asked to bat. Max Chu and Ben Lockrose (87 from 45 balls) putting on 163 for the first wicket. Chu (106 from 54 balls) went through to his first century of the day, being third man out with the score on 221, the second of three wickets that fell to Dylan Day (3 for 31). Halstead skipper Josh Wells chipped in with 28 from 11 balls as Halstead closed at 234 for 4. James Scott (23) and Sam Burkitt put on 32 for the first wicket, before Ben Lockrose (2 for 14) dismissed both. Thereafter, it was a procession of Mistley batsmen with only Callum O’Connell (14) reaching double figures. Ed Calrk picked up 3 for 15, and there were two wickets each for Wells and Craig Spooner as Mistley were dismissed for 82 in the 15th over.

It was a tighter match on the second pitch as champions Coggeshall took on Wivenhoe. Wivenhoe batted first and posted 173 for 9, largely through openers Shahil Shah (27) and Matt Durrell (27) putting on 63 for the first wicket. Then after a collapse that saw Wivenhoe slump to 72 for 5, Alex Osborne (45no) and James Butcher (40) put on 80 for the sixth wicket as Wivenhoe reached their total. Ed King (5 for 39) and Eben Botha (3 for 18) had caused the mid-innings collape. In reply, the Cockerels were always in control of the run chase, with Ned Overbury (44) and Robert Jagger (21) putting on 62 for the first wicket. Eden Botha (73no from 41 balls) then saw his side home to a seven wicket success with seven balls to spare.

Batting first in the final, a repeat of the 2019 contest, Halstead saw their talisman Max Chu dominate the innings with a brilliant 125 from 62 balls. Ben Lockrose (24 from 16) and Josh Wells (29 from 19) gave support as Halstead posted 213 for 4. Eben Botha (3 for 32) was the sole wicket taker for Coggeshall. In reply, Coggeshall were soon on the back foot losing early wickets, and despite a number of players getting starts were never able to challenge the Halstead total. Ed King (26), Barry Edwards (23) and Robert Cross (20) the only players to pass 20, as they were bowled out with one ball to spare for 123. Ryan Vickery (3 for 12) was the most successful bowler, while Josh King (2 for 29) picked up early wickets.

Division Two

In Division 2 Great Waltham bt Eight Ash Green by concession


Leaders Brightlingsea bt Sudbury by concession

While at Kelvedon there was a close finish. Tendring batted first and posted 205 for 4, with Jack Tattersall (50rno) leading the run scoring. While there was good support at the top of the order from Casey Chambers (27), Nick Claydon (34) and skipper Harrison Walsham (27). Tate Allen (2 for 19) was the most successful Kelvedon bowler, although there was a relatively economic spell from Jamie Manning (1 for 23 from 6). In reply, Kelvedon made a spirited effort to chase down the total, with half centuries from Ashley Griffiths (52rno) and Mark Cottee (52rno) before both retired. Eventually they came up just six runs short as Tendring restricted them to 199 for 6.

All eyes turn to the Division One title this coming weekend, as Galleywood host Witham, a win for the visitors will see them take the title.

In Division Two, Eight Ash Green host Great Horkesley and Lexden, while the battle for second place intensifies as Great Waltham host West Bergholt.

Just the one game in the T30, as Chappel & WC welcome Great Bentley to The Hobbie

Choose how to share this post!