Week 11 (June 29 – July 2) – Witham slip up to Springfield again

Published by: Kevin Hewes
Published on 15 August 2023
Last Updated: 15 August 2023

Division One

Springfield defeated Witham for the second time this season, a result that would seem to end Witham’s defence of the NECL Division One title. Batting first after winning the toss, centuries from Charlie Prudence (156no) and Aaron Salil (107) in the a third wicket stand of 142, and a half century from Callum Eva (53) propelled Springfield to 354 for 4 from their 40 overs. In reply, there were solid knocks from Christopher Garrard (40) and Ben Tinham (59), but a decisive spell of 4 for 25 from 25 balls by Shan Thevasakayam eventually saw Witham slide to 193 all out and defeat by 161 runs.

Elsewhere in Division One, Colchester & E.E. conceded for the third time this time resulting in another 10 point deduction and seeing them slide to the foot of the table. Halstead were the beneficiaries on this occasion.

Sudbury’s match at home to West Bergholt was cancelled due to the Sudbury ground being used by Suffolk CCC in entertaining Northumberland CCC in the Quarter Finals of the Minor Counties one day cup. Both Sudbury and West Bergholt receive six points.

Division Two

Galleywood kept the pressure on the leaders Chelmsford with a 166 run victory at home to Great Bentley. Charlie Murray (88), Kamran Raja (56) and Paul Sturton (45) all scored heavily at the top of the order as Galleywood posted 276 for 6. In reply Great Bentley were dismissed for 11o in 22 overs, with Michael Wright (26no) top scoring. The wickets were shared between the four Galleywood bowlers with Harry Jacobs (3 for 22) and John Barritt (3 for 15) the most successful.


Thursday nights T20 matches saw Wivenhoe concede their game at Springfield.

While Mistley bolstered their chances of reaching Finals Day, with a five wicket win at Abberton. The Lions batted first and after a rapid 45 from Elliot Mann at the top of the order, were indebted to an unbroken seventh wicket stand of 43 from Will House (27no) and Thomas Robinson (16no) to get them up to 139 for 6. Matthew Spoors (60) and Callum O’Connell (51no) then made fairly easy work of the reply with a second wicket stand of 85. Ross Soteriou picked up a cheap 3 for 15 for the hosts, but with O’Connell at the crease victory was achieved in the 18th over.


Just the one game in the T30, saw Coggeshall comprehensively defeat Brightlingsea. The hosts posted 239 for 5 with retired fifties for Stuart Fatt (50), Sam Bond (50), whilst Elliot Fatt just missed out on retirement being dismissed for 49. Jonathan Wheatley claimed 3 for 26 for Brightlingsea. The seaside team were soon losing wickets with regularity, with only Alfie Kemp (29), Richard Hunt (21) and James Griffiths (20) topping twenty. Archie Lincoln was the pick of the Coggeshall bowlers returning 4 for 9 from his five overs, as Brightlingsea were bowled out for 134.

Choose how to share this post!