Week 4 (May 8) – Rules headline, rather than Cricket!

Published by: North Essex Cricket League
Published on 11 May 2022
Last Updated: 26 September 2022

Unfortunately, as more teams start their Sunday season, a few have fallen foul of the rule book this week.

Division 1

In the top flight, Halstead backed up their win last week over champions Clacton, with a much tighter win at home to Witham. Batting first after winning the toss, the home side lost two early wickets to Christopher Garrard (2 for 42), before a dominant Max Chu (69, including 12 fours and a six, out of 95) put them in control. Steady middle order batting from Charles Mallett (25) and Ryan Vickery (48) pushed them towards 200, and an unbeaten 50 from skipper Liam Jones eventually guiding them to 230 for 6. Ben Tinham (2 for 37) was the most successful of the Witham bowlers. In reply, all the Witham batters got a start, but without going on to hurt the Halstead bowlers. Christopher Garrard (43), Onke Nyaku (39) and Kaan Hawes (30) contributed most to the Witham effort. Liam Jones (3 for 38) and Josh King (2 for 35) picked up vital wickets as the visitors were restricted to 204 for 8, and defeat by 24 runs.

Clacton have gone back to the top of the division without having to take to the field, opponents Galleywood conceding on Tuesday evening. Unfortunately, not reporting the concession to the Results Secretary by 10pm on Saturday, resulted in a 10 point deduction and a £25 fine for Galleywood.

Division 2

In Division Two, Coggeshall picked up a victory at Great Totham, but unfortunately for the Cockerels they played an ineligible player under the new rule 31A – any player who scored 300 runs or took 20 wickets in the EAPL, TC1 or TC2 in the preceding season is not permitted to play in NECL D2 or lower. So they were deducted 20 points for the indiscretion.

On the field, batting first after winning the toss Coggeshall were bowled out in the 38th over, for 223. Henry Allen (30) and Andrew Goding (41) had scored well at the top end of the order, but the real impetus came from Trevon Garraway with a splendid 92 from his number seven berth. The wickets were shared around for Totham, with Peter Quartermaine, James Pook, Satendra Singh and Tom Wheeler all picking up a pair of wickets each. In reply, Totham were up against it as Callum Stott (4 for 26 from 9) bowled a tidy opening spell, from which they never recovered. Wicketkeeper Tim Logue (39) top scored by Totham who were bowled in the 36th over for 156, to fall 67 runs short.

Great Horkesley & Lexden are another club to fall foul of the rule book, not reporting the result by 10pm on the day of the match, incurring a fine of £5.

On the field it was a red letter day for West Mersea returning to NECL 40 over competition for the first time in six years. Winning the toss, Great Horkesley & Lexden were inserted and with the exception of Hamza Arif (53) found batting difficult early on as 14 year old Seb Gladwell picked up three early wickets. Alistair Manhire (25) and Johnathan Hassan (30) put some useful middle order runs into the innings. However, good tight  bowling spells from the Wyatt brothers kept the pressure on for the islanders, before Ben Rumble (4 for 31) started to make inroads.  Seb Gladwell returned to take the last wicket, to return a career best 4 for 24, as Great Horkesley & Lexden were bowled out in the 39th over for 161.

A nervy start saw Mersea lose opener Tony Butler to a golden duck at the start of the second over. However, thereafter, there was just one winner as Luke Conway (105no) and James Rutter (58no) took control of the game, the pair put on 161 for the second wicket to see Mersea to a nine wicket success in just 21.3 overs. Conway’s fifty coming off 22 balls and his century 58 balls.


Details of the three T30 matches are sketchy in places, but Great Bentley recorded an eight wicket success at Sudbury chasing 125 for 9. Matthew Johnston (39no) and Joe Rose (20) top scoring in the Sudbury effort.

Tendring beat Witham by 58 runs, batting first Tendring posted 177 for 8 from their 30 overs, with half centuries for Harrison Walsham (55no) and Joe Robinson (57no). Rhys John (4 for 32) was the pick of the Witham bowlers. In reply, Harrison McDonald (57no) also posted a half century, but Witham were contained to 119 for 2. Owen Jenno (0 for 11 from 6) bowling an economic spell.

Brightlingsea started their season off with a 67 run victory over Chappel & Wakes Colne. Morgan Hatch posted 50 at the top of the order for Brightlingsea before retiring not out, the other main contributions in the innings coming from Oscar Finbow (42) and Rowan Hunt (40no) as they closed on 198 for 2. Zahid Momand (2 for 3 from 5) caused early problems for Chappel as they began their reply, with Michael Barrenger (0 for 11 from 5) bowling tightly at the other end. Bill Maytham (32 ret not out) and Andrew Ray (49) top scored for Chappel as they posted 131 for 5.

Next weeks fixtures see Springfield welcome Halstead to Coronation Park in Division One, and Witham host Sudbury at The Parks. In Division Two, Eight Ash Green start their season by hosting Coggeshall, Great Totham are at home to Great Waltham and West Bergholt travel to The Glebe to take on West Mersea.

The T20 competition gets underway next Sunday, with champions Coggeshall welcoming Galleywood to Harefield.

While there are two matches in the T30 competition, Kelvedon and Copford start their seasons with a game at Rye Mill Lane, while Sudbury welcome Coggeshall.

Choose how to share this post!